#JobstownNotGuilty Rally For Justice.

In Blogby Shane RagbagsLeave a Comment

Campaign press statement launch outside Dail on 20/10/16

Above: A photo from the campaign press statement launch outside the Dail yesterday.

Here’s the The latest from #JobstownNotGuilty trial. A 17 year-old is due to hear today whether he will be found guilty of falsely imprisoning the then-Minister for Social Protection and Tanaiste, Joan Burton.

You can read the teenager’s own words on it over on Bogman’s Cannon. Get down to the court this morning if you can.

The verdict is due at noon today with a Rally for Justice called for tomorrow, Saturday 1pm at Central Bank marching to Smithfield Square, the location of the Children’s Court, whatever the result.

Here’s the latest from Paul Murphy TD’s facebook page:

“21 TDs and senators have signed a solidarity message in support of a 17 year old who faces being convicted of false imprisonment for participating in a peaceful protest in Jobstown against Joan Burton.

The verdict in his trial, in the Children’s Court, is expected tomorrow (Friday) at 12 noon. The #JobstownNotGuilty campaign has organised a Rally for Justice on Saturday 20th, beginning at 1pm at Central Bank and marching to the Children’s Court in Smithfield. Should he be found guilty, the protest will centre on the injustice and dangerous precedent involved in convicting a peaceful protester of false imprisonment. If he is found not guilty, the protest will focus on the call for all charges against Jobstown protesters to be dropped.

Here’s the text of  a solidarity message signed by numerous TDs:

“We object to the attempt to convict a 17 year old of ‘false imprisonment’ because of his participation in a protest. Peaceful protest does not equate to kidnapping. We oppose this attack on civil liberties and support the Rally for Justice that will take place on Saturday 22 October.”

Signed by: Mick Barry TD (Anti Austerity Alliance – People Before Profit) Richard Boyd Barrett TD (Anti Austerity Alliance – People Before Profit) Pat Buckley TD (Sinn Féin) Joan Collins TD (Independents 4 Change) Ruth Coppinger TD (Anti Austerity Alliance – People Before Profit) Seán Crowe TD (Sinn Féin) Clare Daly TD (Independents 4 Change) Dessie Ellis TD (Sinn Féin) Senator Paul Gavan (Sinn Féin) Seámus Healy TD (Workers and Unemployed Action) Gino Kenny TD (Anti Austerity Alliance – People Before Profit) Martin Kenny TD (Sinn Féin) Senator Pádraig MacLochlainn (Sinn Féin) Denise Mitchell TD (Sinn Féin) Paul Murphy TD (Anti Austerity Alliance – People Before Profit) Senator David Norris (Independent) Eoin Ó Broin TD (Sinn Féin) Thomas Pringle TD (Independents 4 Change) Maurice Quinlivan TD (Sinn Féin) Bríd Smith TD (Anti Austerity Alliance – People Before Profit) Senator Fintan Warfield (Sinn Féin)”

To say up to date follow #JobstownNotGuilt here.

Leave a Comment